Skip to main content
HomeBateman Cruising Station Award

Bateman Cruising Station Award

This award is presented to a volunteer Cruising Station host who has assisted visiting cruisers and particularly SSCA members in a significant capacity, and who has made an effort to promote SSCA and recruit new members. The award is named for George and Dorothy Bateman, of Opua, New Zealand. The Batemans became an SSCA Cruising Station in 1984 and received the Cruising Station of the Year award in 2005. Their outstanding support and assistance to cruisers is described and documented in the November, 2006 Commodores Bulletin.

Award Nomination Form

2019 Recipients of the Cruising Station of the Year

Mary Frazer & Walter Keith (Orion), Chesapeake Bay/Reedville, VA
Mary and Walter energetically welcome local and international cruisers to their docks because they love being involved with the cruising community.

Walter Keith and Mary Frazer

Agustin Martin, Canary Islands
Agustin has assisted cruisers for years in Las Palmas, Canary Islands.  He is also the regional Cruising Station Host for Europe.

Agustin Martin

Past Bateman Cruising Station Award Winners

500 Oakbrook Lane
Summerville, SC 29485
Phone: (754) 702-5068