Skip to main content
HomeSouthbound II Award

Southbound II Award

This award was created to recognize individuals and/or organizations whose volunteer efforts have rendered a valuable service to the well-being of the blue water sailing community.  It is presented on a periodic basis when appropriate (not necessarily annually).

A member of SSCA donated monies to be used to recognize those who have significantly helped sailors living the full-time cruising lifestyle. The conditions of the donation were that the donor remain anonymous; that the award be named to honor Herb Hilgenberg, whose boat as well as his famous high frequency radio station named Southbound II; and that Herb Hilgenberg be the first recipient. The award consists of a crystal sailboat trophy and may include a monetary remuneration. Herb was, indeed, the first recipient of the award in 1999.

Award Nomination Form

2019 Winner

Al Golden, IMIS/Gowrie

Al met the need in the cruising community by creating a business dedicated to serving and insuring cruisers while being an outstanding active supporter and volunteer in SSCA activities.

Al Golden

Past Southbound II Award Recipients

500 Oakbrook Lane
Summerville, SC 29485
Phone: (754) 702-5068